Lunchtime, stuck in my home office and needing to get out of the house for a bit. So I decided to take KES out on the B4040 to Malmesbury. The B4040 is a great road and I use it every day to get to work so know it well. The section to Cirencester I don’t really know at all so this was a mini-adventure for me. As it turned out, a rather pleasant one.

Malmesbury is an old town, with its Abbey dating back to the 12th Century, which formed, at one time, an important part of the lace and silk industries. Indeed, looking down into the valley in which it sits, it is so obviously a mill town as Avon Mill is staring straight back at you. The name gives you a clue as to which river flows through the town.

Malmesbury is home to the “naked gardeners” and if you are lucky enough to see them, suggest you keep your eyes above waist level!

Anyway, heading to Cirencester, passed through Kemble on the A429 which is also notably the acclaimed source of the Thames so worth a look if you have the time. My son weed there once, which made me chuckle knowing my London family would be drinking that water one day soon!

Dropped into Cirencester and headed towards Cricklade via that awful roundabout by Tesco and the new housing development. Whoever planned that needs to be sacked as it is probably the worst laid out roundabout in the country!

Some of the roads were scarred with potholes and poor maintenance which made it a little tricky to keep a straight line so be a little careful if riding this route.

Got home for a cuppa and back to work refreshed!

