Quick Sunday ride this. Getting over a bit of back trouble when Jason popped round suggesting a spin out, there and then. So to test my back, just to see if it was ok I agreed to go.

The route we took was a familiar one – out to Wootton Bassett, Wroughton, Avebury and loop round to Marlborough. Then along the A4 towards Chiseldon, home via Wootton Bassett – but avoiding Purton! You’ll know it when you ride it.

As it was late afternoon, around 4.30pm, traffic was busier than usual. Some was slow though – I think they forget where the “go” pedal is! Not that I’m advocating speeding, but please try and do the limit where appropriate.

Marlborough High street happens to be the second widest in England, after Stockton-on-Tees. That being said, why on earth did those silly teenage girls just walk out in front of us? One was looking at her phone and not paying attention to the road or to what was coming. Yes, we may get “done” for running her over, but the bikes are 200Kg – plus our weights – the girl will come off worse that’s for sure – I have insurance for just this sort of thing!

Anyway, heading out of Marlborough, we headed home. My dinner was waiting again for me – but this time I got home in time to eat with my family.

Nice ride on a nice Sunday afternoon!

