Ride out on Saturday was rather wet to say the least. Still, myself and newbie Gentleman Biker, Keith, headed out for the planned route to Aldbourne, Hungerford, Marlborough and home via Avebury.

Meeting Keith for the first time at Cricklade Town Hall, I was impressed with his 2-year old BMW 700GS!

Setting off, I lead the way down the A419 to Common Head roundabout, taking the second left up and over Liddington Hill, heading towards the sleepy village of Aldbourne. The downs were whip-lashed with the wind and rain, but so long as you take it sensibly, there should be no problems.

From Aldbourne, we headed through following the road to Chilton Foliat and then to Hungerford. Picking up the A4 here, we turned right. This is a long wide section of road; I decided to sit behind a lorry as it was clearing the way for us and showing me where the main puddles were. Thinking back, I should have gone past and found my own route through – oh well, next time!

Ok, once the lorry turned off, we headed through Marblorough on towards Calne to the Divine Cafe.

Stopping for a cuppa tea – thanks Keith, my shout next time – we almost dried out. Luckily the owner of the Divine is used to us bikers as this is a popular stopping point and indeed the North Wiltshire RoSPA group meet here for assessment days.

Leaving the Divine, we headed back towards Avebury. Some brave people out in the wind and rain walking round these stones! This is a great road when its dry! We turned left at Broad Hinton and went down through Broad Town to Wootton Bassett. Keith was leading the way and it seemed he was rather enjoying himself, so instead of going back the direct route, he took us a longer run back. Turning right on B4040 at the Leigh crossroads, we headed back into Cricklade, stopping at the Town Hall to shake hands and to say that we must get out together again.

Thanks Keith for a good morning ride and for being good company!

I only hope I can get the rest of the other Gentleman Bikers out next time too! I know they are busy of course taking sons to football training and so on, so it can be tricky to get us all out at once.

