Trying a different route this morning, and one suggested by Richard G. We headed south along the A419 all the way to Marlborough (ok, A4 too). I didn’t know where Richard was taking us so I thought I would enjoy the ride and have a mystery tour.

Up through Savernake Forest, (I did mislay some £11.5million somewhere around here, but don’t tell anyone will you!), en route to Salisbury. Having so often done this route in a car on the way to the coast – many, many happy memories of travelling for day trips to Weymouth, Bournemouth and Swanage too – it was finally nice to do it on a bike.

Anyway, misty eyed (partly ‘cos I woke up late and some nostalgia of course) we headed to Ludgershall. From there we headed to Hungerford (my second trip there in so many days by the way). Richard decided not to go straight there and took us of on a mystery tour around some windy, bendy, steep country lanes. Great!

Arriving in Marlborough, we headed to Calne. He was keen to try out the Divine Cafe, so I lead from here.

After having a refreshing cup of tea and coffee, we headed back towards Swindon via Avebury, Wroughton, and then my parents too. We were welcomed with a cup of tea and a chat. Annoyingly, my Dad and step-mum mentioned that Richard’s bike was much, much cleaner than mine. That’s because I use mine on a far more regular basis, and it is 26 years old compared to Richard’s 3 year old bike – mine is supposed to be a bit tired – isn’t it?

So, nose slightly out of joint, I’d even bought the tea at the Divine (not that I want to make a fuss about that of course so wont mention it again, not with my nose as it was), we headed back to Cricklade and home.

At home, I immediately gave KES a good clean and polish too. I even cleaned my cars just in case Dad popped over and complained about them also.

The ride was somewhere around the 100 miles mark, I can’t really say above or below. We were out for a good 2.5 hours riding though and it did feel good. There were some brilliant straights, corners and alsorts to test our riding skills.

Around 9.15pm I get a text from Richard just to say he’s spent the past hour cleaning and polishing his bike. Smugly, I replied, I’ve done mine already! :DD

