New Year’s eve, and the frost has thawed enough to get out for the final run of the year.

Some of this route had been done before when we went via Wantage, but this time I wanted to go further still. Goring and Streately were calling!

As it turned out, it was a nice ride. Sun was shining and surprisingly warm too.As it was mostly behind me, my back was kept nice and toasty.

I knew this route from using it many times several years ago when we lived in Tilehurst in Reading. Nice long straights and bends with some interesting and testing twists thrown in for good measure, coupled with fabulous views to boot too. Unbelievable number of Red Kites and Buzzards about today! One flew directly at me in some sort of strange game of “chicken”!

Arrived in Goring where we slowly burbled through, and back again, turning left towards Pangbourne. (Next time I come through, I will bring the rest of the Gentlemen Bikers and stop for a coffee either at Goring or Pangbourne). Again, I know Pangbourne reasonably well and parked up in the car park nearest the river. I wanted to take a picture of the toll bridge linking Panbourne to Whitchurch.

IMG_1757 (692x800) IMG_1755 (800x410)

Heading home, we went back through Pangbourne heading in the direction of the M4, turning right to go up the hill past Pangbourne college. Following this route we headed for Chieveley. Watch out for some un-signposted roads! From there we headed to Wantage and then followed signs for Faringdon. At the A420 we headed for Swindon and our old friend, the A419.

Back at the A419 we turned towards Cricklade.

Great ride all by myself. Didn’t stop for a coffee as it isn’t the same when you are “billy-no-mates”. Got home just as the light was beginning to fade.

Approximately 100 miles covered.

Route can be found here http://www.rac.co.uk/route-planner/l/itHE

