I wasn’t planning on including product reviews in this blog, but thought it about time to provide some feedback on my riding kit, Oxford Bone Dry.

Both the jacket and trousers, as seen in some of the photos on this site, are called “Bone dry” and I’ve had them for some 18 months now. They were £50 each, so rather relatively cheap for motorcycling gear. Generally speaking, they are comfy and easy to wear. They have elbow, shoulder and back armour in the jacket; and knee and side armour in the trousers. The inner linings can be removed from both, as I have done recently, for the warmer weather. And they do keep the wind off me rather nicely.

However, there are a couple of problems. The “Bone Dry” description is only accurate when it is not raining! When it rains, I get wet. And now, the zip on the jacket is literally falling apart.

I know they were cheap, and you get what you pay for. But, in case you are looking for new gear, I would recommend spending a little more on something else. Which is what I will be doing very soon!

I understand Oxford provide some very good luggage for motorbikes which do get a good write up. Maybe I just got a bad lot!

