Went for an evening spin with Richard George yesterday around 7.30pm. Thought it might have cooled down a bit to make the ride more “comfortable”. Well, I was wrong – it was very very hot. Trouble with having fairings on a bike is that there is no wind so you can’t cool down. It’s ok in Winter of course as it keeps the cold wind off you, but not so in summer. This is, judging by the K100 forums, one of the biggest complaints against the BMW K100 RT. Must check out the latest models to see if they have made tried to remedy this. Ok, I know KES is now 27 years old so I can’t really complain! New bike perhaps? 🙂

Being the evening, the sun was staring to set and was low in the sky and the fly’s were out in their millions. I know, I seemed to have brought many of them home with me. Occasionally, you almost feel the fly hitting the helmet – some flies are rather large! I probably got a dragon-fly or two along the way. Plan to buy some of that “Bug off” cleaning stuff today.

Our route was a simple one; along the B4040 to Malmesbury, turn left towards the M4, and then first roundabout towards Wootton Bassett. This road takes you through the village of Brinkworth which is the longest in England at over 6 miles. At the Prince of Wales roundabout, turn left towards Purton and home again via the allotment (oh yes, even when I am out I have “jobs to do”!).

Nice easy ride that has been done many times before going to and from work.

Next ride, 11 July? Let me know if you fancy joining us. Meet at the Cricklade Town Hall for 8am (ish) start.

