What a cracking day! Nice bright and early start, Richard and me. Surprised no-one else came along for the ride – literally!

Anyway, plan to head out to Ross-on-Wye as I thought I had been there before and knew of a coffee/tea stop.

So, heading out of Cricklade north bound, we took the A419 and A417 to Gloucester. For our convenience, Ross-on-Wye was signposted which we duly followed! However, roadworks meant there was a deviation so we went via Tewksbury instead. Nice looking market town all ready for its carnival that day with colourful bunting strung across the road.

No signs for Ross-on-Wye further along though so we “found” the M5 and thoughtfully sped along here for one junction (or was it 2?). Now Ross was marked and at the Ross turning we took the M50. 12 miles to go – seemed like a long 12 miles though.

Arrived at Ross-on-Wye, and no, I didn’t recognise it at all. I have never been here before so I think I got my towns mixed up. Anyway, it was pleasant enough. Stopping for a coffee using the car park behind Sainsbury’s, we had a nice coffee bar in a small courtyard. Sorry, can’t remember the name, but it could have been Cafe Eazz?

Mentioned to Richard that evening my wife, Sally, and I were heading out to see Spandau Ballet at Westonbirt Arboretum. Jealous? Yes, I think he was – ah ha ha haaaaa, ah ha! One of those gold moments!

Anyway, to cut a long story short and suitably refreshed, we left Ross-on-Wye following signs to Gloucester. Turned out to be a rather nice route home. Good bendy windy roads to provide some challenge to the ride. Motorways are ok, but sooooooo boring!

Got home around 11.30am. All in all, a nice ride of around 78 miles including a couple of detours and tours around a town I didn’t know. KES also clocked 60,000 miles this trip! Going strong still!

Thoughts are turning to our next ride out which will hopefully be in August and as its Summer, we need to head to the coast for fish’n’chips. Swanage perhaps? Nice ride down there! Down the A419, A4 to Marlborough, onto Salisbury and winding our way through the Dorset countryside on an early August morning – hope it stays dry! http://www.rac.co.uk/route-planner/l/kPKE

