Sat here working away at my desk (in the dining room) that overlooks the front of the house, when Jason wanders past. Thursday is typically our “coffee morning” when we chew the fat and put our world’s to rights. As today was such a nice day, Jason had a much better idea and suggested we take the bikes out for a spin. Of course, I am easily lead in that respect and agreed that’s what we should do.

Off we set with me following Jason. Heading for the Fosse Way (A429), via some circuitous route ambling through Down Ampney and heading in a northerly direction along the back roads.

The route took us through some places I don’t think I’ve been to before, such as Sunhill and Ready Token. Very pleasant it was. Typical Cotwsold Hills. Not a lot of traffic about today so that was good. Eventually got to the Fosse Way at Foss Cross when we turned right heading north.

This is a nice road, though can get a bit boring in my opinion. Lots of nice long straights with sweeping bends. But, get stuck behind a slow driver and you can be there for a while waiting for a safe place to overtake. There are lots of hidden dips so be careful.

At Bourton on the Water which is so quintessentially English, we turned into the village and eventually parked up in a slot in the main street right opposite the Motor Museum. Popped into the Old Manse for our coffee.

What can I say? What a spot to sit at! Sitting outdoors, overlooking the river Windrush watching the tourists go by, admiring the weeping willow and stroking a very friendly little dog. And Jason paid for the coffees!

We headed back home south along the Fosse Way, turning right into Chelworth. Following our noses, we arrived in Cirencester. Heading out to Ashton Keynes to our old friend the B4040 – one of my favourite roads – turning left home to Cricklade.

That was one of my bestest coffee mornings ever! Cheers Jason!!

Time out of the office was almost 2 hours. I don’t know about mileage as I didn’t check!

