Went for a spin early this morning. Leaving town at 8am we headed out to Malmesbury along the B4040. One of my favourite roads this; its got lots of straights and great bends to try. All the way to the M4 at junction 17.

Stopped at Leigh Delamere to switch on the sat-nav. Sally bought me a bike mount for our car sat-nav so thought this would be a good chance to try it out.

Volume was turned up to maximum and I still couldn’t hear the bloody thing!

Got to junction 18 and turned right for Tetbury. Burbling through villages such as Westonbirt – saw Spandau Ballet here last summer – and sped along the winding, twisty road doing the speed limit all the way. No weekend drivers out today which made a very pleasant change – thank you!!

Into Cirencester, we headed into town rather than go on the dual carriageway. Through market square and turned right at the roundabout.

And rode all the way home.

Blooming cold too! I only wore a T-shirt beneath my jacket and I did start to feel the cold. I guess this is a longer journey than I have been doing of late so the cold did get  through eventually.

Anyway, nice ride. Kept to the speed limit. Dry, no ice, no rain, no worries! And sat-nav – yeah worked well.

And who is Billy – surname, “no-mates”. Turned out just me on my own which is fine. Just nice to be out on a ride for an hour or so anyway.

Route has been done before, several times, but shown below again!

